Log In Registration

Dirty Dozen Brass Band

by The Staff on February 6, 2013


Credited with revolutionizing the New Orleans band style, Dirty Dozen Brass Band have made their name by taking the flagship music of the bayou and infusing sounds from funk and bebop.

The group of musicians first came together in 1977, founded by former bass drummer Benny Jones in collaboration with members from the Tornado Brass Band. Members of the current lineup are Gregory Davis on trumpet and vocals, Roger Lewis on baritone sax, Kevin Harris on saxophone, Terence Higgins on drums, Jake Eckert on guitar, Efrem Towns on trumpet and Kirk Joseph rounding them out on the Sousaphone.

The Dirty Dozen Brass Band will perform Saturday (Feb. 9) at 7:30 PM at Picotte Recital Hall (Massry Center for the Arts, 1002 Madison Ave., Albany). Tickets are $30. For more info, call 337-4781 or e-mail concerts@strose.edu.